EBSCOhost DatabaseeJSTORAmerican Chemical SocietyCQ ResearcherLexisNexisProQuestScienceDirectGALE Databases
Film: Films on DemandImage: CAMEO
EBRARYeBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
This is the "Home" page of the "Linking to Clarion University Libraries Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Linking to Clarion University Libraries Resources   Tags: d2l, durable_links, permalinks, persistent_links, proxy, purls, stable_urls  

How to prepare persistent hyperlinks to online resources licensed by the Clarion University Libraries.
Last Updated: Mar 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.clarion.edu/resource_links Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Persistent links for the Clarion University Libraries electronic content

   Persistent links also called durable links, or permanent links, are Internet addresses or URLs (Uniform Resource Locators) that remain consistent and do not change over time that can connect users directly to a specific full-text article in a library database or electronic journal subscription. 

   Persistent links can be placed within D2L, course web sites, syllabi and readings lists. They allow students to access articles by linking to Clarion University Libraries' electronic subscriptions. Linking to these articles also provides the University Libraries with more consistent usage statistics for our databases.

 

Example of a "persistent link"

It is important to know that you cannot simply copy the URL that pops up while you have a full text article open in a database and use it to get back to the article. The persistent link must have the CUP proxy embedded in it. Databases usually have a location that shows the persistent link and sometimes the CUP proxy information will be automatically included. In some databases, you will need to add the CUP proxy information to the persistent link. However, creating persistent links is a simple process of copying and pasting. Just don't forget to check your link before publicizing it!

A persistent link is composed of two parts:

1.  The library's ezproxy address:

http://navigator-clarion.passhe.edu/login?url=

2.  Plus the database link (example for JSTOR): 

 http://navigator-clarion.passhe.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/i302181

People off-campus will be prompted for a CUP username and password to access subscription database articles.
Off-Campus Login Info

Electronic Journals & Serials/Reference Librarian & Chinese Instructor

Profile Image
Sandy Chen
Contact Info
Rena M. Carlson Library
Office Room 121
814-393-2748
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip