This is the "Nursing Resources" page of the "Nursing Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing Resources   Tags: nursing_medicine  

Last Updated: Jan 27, 2014 URL: http://libguides.clarion.edu/nursing Print Guide RSS Updates

Nursing Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Nursing Resources

Nursing Database Resources

Clarion University Nursing Journal Holdings -- List of nursing-related journals owned by Suhr Library

CINAHL with Full Text via EBSCO Databases (Available To Clarion University Students Only)

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition via EBSCO Databases (Available To Clarion University Students Only)

MEDLINE - PubMed

Web-based medical database available through the National Library of Medicine.

MedlinePlus

This site provides simple but accurate health-related information for the general public. Its medical encyclopedia, drug and herbal supplement information, current health news, and superior interactive tutorials are excellent resources for nursing students.

Medscape

Web-based medical and nursing information on a variety of topics. Includes articles from medical journals.

National Institute of Nursing Research

This organization's mission is to support research in nursing in clinical and community settings through grants and other funding programs. Information is provided on its funding initiatives, diversity programs and resources, links to nursing organizations for various specialties, and publications from national conferences and meetings.

Nursing and Allied Health Resources Section of the Medical Library Association


The content includes resources for nurses and other health professionals including databases, electronic books, electronic journals, and Web sites related to nursing and allied health disciplines.

 

Medical Resources

Medical Resources

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

This federal agency has research on healthcare quality, safety, and cost-effectiveness. It provides links for information on specific conditions, health insurance plans, prescriptions, health, and wellness. It also provides information on areas of disaster preparedness, quality and patient safety, datasets, and research findings. It has a research section devoted to nursing which outlines the roles of AHRQ nurses, provides a listing of Web tools and resources for nurses, and includes information on funding for research.

American Association for World Health

Bioethics Research Library

BioMed Central

More than 140 open access journals covering all areas of biology and medicine. Included are journals on nutrition, public and international health, and BMC nursing.

CDC

Includes information about the Center for Disease Control, various diseases and health information, statistical health-related        information, and epidemic news items.


Cultural Competencies Resources for Health Care Providers

    Cultural competencies and health literacy resources from the U. S. Department of Health & Human Resources. 

Hardin MD

Hardin MD offers a huge, up-to-date collection of medical images and information. Some examples of subject clusters are AIDS; cancer; children's diseases; flu (including bird flu); heart disease; infectious diseases; the nervous, respiratory, and skeletal systems; skin diseases; and women's health.

Healthfinder

Government web site that includes a wide spectrum of health care information ranging from wellness and prevention of illnesses to alternative medicine to health care organizations.

Healthline

      Healthline provides trusted health information, free tools, news and doctor-reviewed resources to       encourage a healthy living for you and your loved ones.

Mayo Clinic:Tools for Healthier Lives

The medical information is high quality and comprehensive, but the "Tools" section sets this resource apart. Among the tools are online calculators (including BMI, calorie, heart disease risk), self-assessments (including depression, prostate, stress, obesity), a symptom checker, and quizzes.

Medical Dictionary

Medical dictionary from Medicine Net.

National Cancer Institute

NIH Library

Includes links to other governmental web sites related to health care issues.

Public Library of Science (PLoS)

PLoS is used by scientists and doctors to publish quality, peer-reviewed literature and make it freely available to the public and other researchers. It publishes journals in biology, medicine, clinical trials, and genetics with articles on public health, international health issues, and clinical research.

World Health Organization (WHO)

A source of global health information, including statistics and country-by-country health overviews.It is well indexed and easy to navigate.

 

 

Statistical Resources

Front CoverBonData County Data Books   check with your local library or a library in the area in which you are researching to see if they have one for the county   CUP has the following in print in reference: Allegheny County, Clarion County, Jefferson County, Venango County

Pennsylvania County Data Books 2011   published by the Pennsylvania State Data Center   check with your local library or a library in the area in which you are researching to see if they have one for the county   CUP has the following in print in reference: Allegheny County, Clarion County, Jefferson County, Venango County

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States 2013   Ref. qHA 202 2013   in print in reference

PolicyMap database

The Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection website can give you statistics on air quality, water pollution, and ground contamination.

The United States Environmental Protection Agency website can give you information on EPA activity in your area.

Quick Health Data Online is provided by the Office of Women's Health and comprises data indicators of the health of women and minorities in the US

RWJF DataHub is a free, user-friendly tool that provides US national and State health statistics

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip