This is the "E-book Information" page of the "E-books at Clarion University and E-reader Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

E-books at Clarion University and E-reader Guide  

This guide describes the many e-book resources available through the University Libraries, how to access them, and using them with e-readers.
Last Updated: Feb 27, 2015 URL: http://libguides.clarion.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates

E-book Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off-Campus Access

Remember that to access these books, you have to log in for remote access (when prompted).

Having trouble with remote access?

If you encounter a broken link or cannot get into a resource, you can do a few things first to make sure that there really is a problem.

  1. Reload the page
  2. Make sure you have configured your browser to accept cookies
  3. Wait a few minutes and try again. For some resources we have a limited number of simultaneous users. When the maximum number of users are logged in, you could be denied access.
  4. Change to a different browser and/or computer
  5. You may be prompted for a username and password when none is required. Please wait a few minutes and try again.
  • Ask-a-Librarian
    If you are still having trouble, contact Ask-a-Librarian.
 

Downloading

Prepare your device for downloading.  You may need to download and install Adobe Digital Editions so you might need to create an Adobe account and ID.

EBSCO ebooks will require you to create and use your own MyEBSCOHost account.  It provides users with the ability to establish free, personalized EBSCOhost folder accounts and authorization to download their ebooks.

Ebrary (ProQuest) ebooks will ask you to sign in with your Clarion University username and password.

Please access the E-reader tips for details on downloading to other mobile devices.

Please be aware that these companies may track your reading preferences.

 

E-books at Clarion

The Clarion University Libraries offer an extensive collection of ebooks made available through our databases. These collections cover a variety of disciplines including business, economics, technology, engineering, humanities, arts, and science. This guide has been created to assist students in searching for, accessing, and downloading digital content through the library's homepage.

What is an ebook?

An electronic book (also e-book, ebook, eBook, digital book) is a book made available in digital form and designed to be read using special e-book software, some of which preserve the book’s original layout and design. Ebooks can be read on a variety of PCs (desktops, notebooks, tablets, and handhelds), PDAs, and dedicated e-book readers using specially designed e-book software. (Source: CredoReference)

How do I access ebooks at Clarion?

Our ebook collections are available for free to Clarion students, faculty, and staff 24/7 through the library's homepage and online catalog. Ebook collections and their descriptions can also be accessed from the Major Ebook Collections tab in this libguide.

Using a wireless device or e-reader?

Visit the E-reader tips tab for information on compatible portable devices.

 

Things to Keep in Mind About E-books

  • Not all books are available in ebook format.  
  • Some library ebook collections are presented in formats that are intended for viewing in a browser on a computer. 
  • The ebook collections that the library subscribes to tend to be scholarly books rather than popular books. 
  • The libraries have subscribed to and purchased many single ebook titles and collections over the years and some are available as single-user or 3-user or unlimited-user license. 
  • Many of the ebooks and ebook collections to which we subscribe have restrictions on accessibility and use. These restrictions are often created by the owner of the content whether it be a publisher, author, or another party who maintains rights over the digital product. The conditions often determine who can access the ebook, how it can be accessed or used, or if it can be downloaded or printed.
 

Printing, copying and downloading

When using an eBook, you may be able to:

  • Print 
  • Copy
  • Download 

The amount you are able to print, copy or download is set by the publishers. It may be a chapter, or between 10% - 20% of the book, or it may not be allowed at all.  Loan periods may be set by the libraries if downloading is available.

 

Adobe Digital Editions

Adobe Digital Editions software allows you to view and manage eBooks and other digital publications, including industry-standard eBook formats, PDF/A and EPUB.

Use it to download and purchase digital content, which can be read both online and offline. Transfer copy-protected eBooks from your personal computer to other computers or devices.

Adobe Digital Editions

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip